

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 7, 2017

## Emporia State University and Coffeyville Community College Awarded Fifth Annual Data Quality Awards

(Topeka, Kansas) - During today's luncheon at the Kansas Board of Regents 2017 Data Quality and Planning Conference, Dr. Blake Flanders, President and CEO of the Kansas Board of Regents, presented Emporia State University and Coffeyville Community College with Data Quality Awards.

Now in its fifth year, the award serves as a way to recognize institutions for excellence in the quality of data submitted and the timeliness of submissions. Awards are given each June to the two institutions with superior ratings, recognizing the outstanding team of professionals who provide each institutional data to the Board.

"It takes highly dedicated and skillful institutional research staff to meet the challenges of our fast-paced schedule and complex reporting requirements," stated Cynthia Farrier, Director of Data, Research and Planning at the Kansas Board of Regents. "I am truly honored to have this award, so that we can recognize these two leaders who quietly draw upon experience and knowledge to produce impeccable results."

Data are submitted throughout the year to support a variety of purposes, which include state funding distribution formulas, Board and Legislative strategic agendas, research initiatives, federal and state compliance, and data transparency efforts such as the new Kansas DegreeStats website (www.ksdegreestats.org).

"Strong data reporting is critical to our success in serving students, their parents, the Board of Regents, the Legislature, and the Governor," stated Dr. Flanders. "The superior quality and accessibility of higher education data in Kansas is invaluable for data-driven decision-making, and only possible through a well-orchestrated effort by so many dedicated individuals."

Included on the 2017 selection committee were representatives from last year's winning institutions: Johnson County Community College and Seward County Community College. Other past winners include: Washburn Institute of Technology, Butler Community College, Pittsburg State University, Kansas City Kansas Community College, Washburn University, and Neosho County Community College.

For more information, contact Breeze Richardson at (785) 430-4237 or brichardson@ksbor.org.

Award ceremony photos attached. Photo 1: From L to R: Dr. Blake Flanders, Christy Schreck and Dr. JoLanna Kord (Emporia State University), and Cynthia Farrier; Photo 2: From L to R: Dr. Blake Flanders, Deborah Oestmann (Coffeyville Community College), and Cynthia Farrier

###

## **About the Kansas Board of Regents:**

The nine-member Kansas Board of Regents is the governing board of the state's six universities and the statewide coordinating board for the state's 32 public higher education institutions (six state universities, one municipal university, nineteen community colleges, and six technical colleges). In addition, the Board administers the state's student financial aid, adult education, high school equivalency, and career and technical education programs. Private proprietary schools and out-of-state institutions are authorized by the Kansas Board of Regents to operate in Kansas.

Visit the Kansas Board of Regents online at www.kansasregents.org.