November 16, 2011

20 Individuals Selected For Search Process

(TOPEKA) – Today, the Kansas Board of Regents selected the 20 individuals who will guide the search process for the next president of Wichita State University (WSU) and adopted the charge for the WSU Presidential Search Committee.

The search committee, comprised of individuals representing WSU constituencies such as faculty, students, administration, staff, alumni, foundation, the Wichita community, and the Board of Regents, will be led by former-Regent Steve Clark of Wichita. Clark, President and CEO of Clark Investment Group, served on the Kansas Board of Regents from 1999 to 2002.

“It is my honor to participate in and lead this outstanding group of people,” said Clark. “Every member of the committee recognizes the importance of selecting the next leader of Wichita State University, and understands the decision will shape the future of the university. We welcome the opportunity to help the Board in this exciting and important task.”

“The selection of a university leader is an important responsibility of the Board of Regents to the current and future students of WSU and the citizens of Kansas,” said Regent Ed McKechnie of Arcadia, Chair of the Kansas Board of Regents. “The next WSU President will have opportunities to promote and grow signature WSU programs and expand the important role WSU plays in meeting the economic and workforce needs of Kansas. The Regents look forward to supporting the committee during their work and to receiving their recommendations.”

The eight search committee members representing WSU faculty, staff, and administration are: Matthew Albers, Assistant Manager of Postal Services and Classified Senate President; Ted Ayres, Vice President and General Counsel; Barbara Chaparro, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Psychology; Deltha Colvin, Assistant Vice President for Campus Life and Director of Trio/Gear Up; Kathy Coufal, Ph.D., Department Chair and Professor of Communications Sciences and Disorders; Robert Ross, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Marketing and President-Elect of the Faculty Senate; Kim Sandlin, Assistant Director of Admissions and Unclassified Senate President; and Zulma Toro-Ramos, Ph.D., Dean of the College of Engineering.

The two members representing WSU students are: Matthew Onstott, President of the Student Government Association and Elizabeth Quinn, Student Ambassador Society President.

The two members representing WSU alumni and foundation are: Tyler Heffron, Attorney and Alumni Association President and Bill Moore, Retired Chief Operating Officer and Executive Vice President of Westar and President-Elect of the Foundation Board.

The five members representing the Wichita community are: Allan Higdon, Retired co-founder and Chairman/CEO of Sullivan, Higdon & Sink; Ed O’Malley, CEO of the Kansas Leadership Center; John Rolfe, President and CEO of the Wichita Convention and Visitors Bureau; Tom Sawyer, former Kansas Legislator; and Jeff Turner, President and CEO of Spirit AeroSystems.

The two members representing the Board of Regents are: Christine Downey-Schmidt of Inman, Regent; and Dr. Andy Tompkins, President and CEO.

The charge, which can be found on the Board’s website outlines the process by which the next WSU President will be selected.

Over the next several months, the committee will work to identify and recruit candidates to replace current WSU President Donald Beggs who, after twelve years of service, will step down on June 30, 2012. Throughout the search process, the committee will work closely with a yet-to-be-determined higher education executive search firm.


About the Kansas Board of Regents:
The nine-member Kansas Board of Regents, founded in 1925 and established in the Kansas Constitution, is the governing board of the six state universities and the statewide coordinating board for the state’s 32 public higher education institutions (six state universities, one municipal university, 19 community colleges, and six technical colleges). In addition, the Board administers the state’s student financial aid, adult education, GED, career and technical education programs, and the state university retirement plans. The Board also approves private proprietary schools and out-of-state institutions to operate in Kansas, and administers the Kan-ed network, a statewide network that provides broadband Internet access and distance learning capabilities for schools, hospitals, and libraries.

For more information contact Vanessa Lamoreaux at (785) 296-3421 or at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Visit the Kansas Board of Regents online at