June 25, 2014

Washburn University and Neosho County Community College Awarded Second Annual Data Quality Awards

(Topeka, Kansas) - During today's luncheon at the Kansas Board of Regents 2014 Data Quality and Planning Conference, Dr. Andy Tompkins, President and CEO of the Kansas Board of Regents, presented Washburn University and Neosho County Community College with the second annual Kansas Board of Regents Data Quality Awards.

First introduced last year as a way to recognize institutions for excellence in the quality of data submitted and the timeliness of the submissions, awards are given each June to the two institutions with superior ratings.  This award aims to recognize the outstanding team of professionals working to achieve exceptional results.

"It's not a cakewalk to say the least," stated Cindy Farrier, Director of Data, Research, and Planning at the Kansas Board of Regents.  "This award, in a small way, serves to recognize the time, dedication, and attention to detail required of our unsung heroes in the field."

Data are submitted throughout the year and are used for determining the distribution of state appropriations, to inform the Kansas Legislature and the Board of Regents in support of data-driven decision-making, to comply with state and federal reporting requirements, and to perform research for program improvement regarding higher education in Kansas.

"Timing and accurate reporting of data is critical to our success in serving students, their parents, the Board of Regents, the Legislature, and the Governor," stated Dr. Tompkins. "We appreciate and congratulate these institutions on the standard of quality which this award represents."

Included on the 2014 selection committee were representatives from last year's winning institutions: Kansas City Kansas Community College and Pittsburg State University.

For more information, contact Breeze Richardson at (785) 291-3969 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


About the Kansas Board of Regents:
The nine-member Kansas Board of Regents, founded in 1925 and established in the Kansas Constitution, is the governing board of the six state universities and the statewide coordinating board for the state’s 32 public higher education institutions (six state universities, one municipal university, nineteen community colleges, and six technical colleges). In addition, the Board administers the state’s student financial aid, adult education, GED, career and technical education programs, and the state university retirement plans. The Board also approves private proprietary schools and out-of-state institutions to operate in Kansas and administers the Kan-ed network, a statewide network that provides broadband Internet access and distance learning capabilities for schools, hospitals, and libraries.

Visit the Kansas Board of Regents online at

Washburn University and Neosho County Community College Awarded Second Annual Data Quality Awards (PDF)