November 23, 2016

Regents Respond to Resignation at Fort Hays State University

(Topeka, Kansas) - Regent Zoe F. Newton, Chair of the Kansas Board of Regents, has issued the following statement regarding today’s resignation of Fort Hays State University President Mirta M. Martin:

“The Board thanks Dr. Martin for the commitment she has made to Fort Hays State University, and offers our best wishes for her future endeavors. We are grateful for the contributions she has made to the higher education system in Kansas.”

Dr. Martin was selected by the Kansas Board of Regents as the 9th President of Fort Hays State University on May 2, 2014. She began her presidency on July 1, 2014, and served as the university’s president for just over two years. Dr. Martin’s resignation was effective immediately.

Mike Barnett, Fort Hays State University Vice President for Administration and Finance, has been named Acting President. Barnett, who grew up in northwest Kansas and earned a bachelor's degree from Fort Hays State in 1979, has been in his current position since April 2004.

The Board will next meet on Wednesday, December 14, 2016.

Contact: Breeze Richardson – 785-430-4237 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 


About the Kansas Board of Regents:
The nine-member Kansas Board of Regents is the governing board of the state’s six universities and the statewide coordinating board for the state’s 32 public higher education institutions (six state universities, one municipal university, nineteen community colleges, and six technical colleges). In addition, the Board administers the state’s student financial aid, adult education, high school equivalency, and career and technical education programs. Private proprietary schools and out-of-state institutions are authorized by the Kansas Board of Regents to operate in Kansas.

ICON document-PDF Regents Respond to Resignation at Fort Hays State University (PDF download)