December 14, 2016

Board of Regents Appoint KU Chancellor Search Committee

(Topeka, Kansas) - Today the Board of Regents appointed 24 individuals to join Search Committee Chair, Dave Dillon, to assist and advise the Board in the selection of the next Chancellor of the University of Kansas. The search committee includes representation from KU students, alumni, endowment, faculty, administration, staff, athletics, and the wider Lawrence community.

Following the selection of Mr. Dillon during last month’s meeting of the Board, Zoe Newton, Chair of the Kansas Board of Regents, stated: “The Board is excited and deeply appreciative of Mr. Dillon’s willingness to serve as the Chair of this Search, knowing he will facilitate a strong process to review the candidates that are brought forward for consideration and advance to us the most qualified for the position of Chancellor for the University of Kansas.”

Over the next several months, the search committee will work closely with search firm R. William Funk & Associates to identify and recruit candidates for the position of Chancellor.

“The Board has selected an impressive list of individuals to serve,” stated Search Committee Chair Dave Dillon. “I am particularly appreciative of how much this group of individuals have already given to the University of Kansas and of the diverse experience they will bring to our work. Given KU’s accomplishments and the groundwork already laid, I have total confidence that we will have a nationally-acclaimed pool of candidates to consider and a clear process to guide us.”

In addition to approving the committee’s membership, the Board also approved a formal charge which instructs the search committee to identify “three to five candidates who are the most qualified for Board selection as the next Chancellor for the University of Kansas.”

Click here to review the full charge.

Search committee members representing alumni/foundation include: Lydia Beebe, Senior Of Counsel in the San Francisco office of Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati and KU Endowment Association Trustee; Greg Ek, First Vice-President and Wichita Branch Manager for Morgan Stanley, and KU Alumni Association National Board member; Dave Roland, President of NDC Technologies and KU Alumni Association National Board member; Deanell Reece Tacha, retired federal judge, United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit, and Chair of the KU Endowment Association Board of Trustees; and Steve Sloan, Chief Executive Officer of Midwest Minerals, Inc. and KU Endowment Association Trustee representing KU Athletics.

Search committee members representing KU students include: Stephonn Alcorn, a senior from Gardner, Kansas, studying Finance and the KU Lawrence Student Body President; Gabby Naylor, a senior from Providence, Rhode Island, majoring in Accounting and presently serving as the KU-Lawrence Student Body Vice President; and Christina Hughey, a third year medical student at the University of Kansas School of Medicine, Chair of the Student Governing Council for the Medical Center Campus, and that body's incoming President-elect.

Search committee members representing faculty, administration, and staff include: Ann Brill, Ph.D., Dean of the William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Kansas; Tracie Collins, M.D., Chair at the University of Kansas School of Medicine in Wichita; Joseph Harrington, Ph.D., Professor in the KU Department of English and University of Kansas University Senate President; Roy A. Jensen, M.D., William R. Jewell, M.D. Distinguished Kansas Masonic Professor, director of The University of Kansas Cancer Center, and director of the Kansas Masonic Cancer Research Institute; Amalia Monroe-Gulick, Associate Librarian faculty member with the University of Kansas Libraries, and University of Kansas Faculty Senate President-Elect; Robert D. Simari, M.D., executive dean of the University of Kansas School of Medicine; Rodolfo H. Torres, Ph.D., Associate Vice Chancellor for the University of Kansas Office of Research and a University Distinguished Professor of Mathematics; Brian Moss, Staff Senate President-Elect; and Elizabeth Phillips, President of the KU Staff Senate.

Search committee members representing the wider Lawrence community and the broader Kansas community include: Willie Amison, Jr., Ed.D., former elementary school Principal and President of Amison Consulting; Joan Golden, Senior Vice President of Development for U.S. Bank of Lawrence; and Debbie Nordling, State Farm Agent and KU Alumni Association Southwest Kansas chapter co-leader.

U.S. Senator Jerry Moran and Bob Page, President and CEO for The University of Kansas Hospital, will also serve on the committee.

The Board of Regents is represented by: Dave Dillon, retired Chairman and CEO of The Kroger Co.; Regent Ann Brandau-Murguia, Executive Director of the Argentine Neighborhood Development Association, who will serve as vice-chair of the Chancellor Search Committee; and Blake Flanders, President and CEO of the Kansas Board of Regents.

Click here to download the committee membership with complete bios.

For more information, contact Breeze Richardson at (773) 255-7847 (cell) or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


About the Kansas Board of Regents:
The nine-member Kansas Board of Regents is the governing board of the state’s six universities and the statewide coordinating board for the state’s 32 public higher education institutions (six state universities, one municipal university, nineteen community colleges, and six technical colleges). In addition, the Board administers the state’s student financial aid, adult education, high school equivalency, and career and technical education programs. Private proprietary schools and out-of-state institutions are authorized by the Kansas Board of Regents to operate in Kansas.

ICON document-PDF Board of Regents Appoint KU Chancellor Search Committee (PDF download)