Council of Chief Academic Officers

MINUTES Wednesday June 20, 2018

The June 20, 2018, meeting of the Council of Chief Academic Officers was called to order by Chair April Mason at 9:15 a.m. The meeting was held in Suite 530 located in the Curtis State Office Building, 1000 S.W. Jackson, Topeka, KS.

In Attendance:

Members: April Mason, KSU David Cordle, ESU Jeff Briggs, FHSU

Lynette Olson, PSU Carl Lejuez, KU Robert Klein, KUMC

Rick Muma, WSU JulieAnn Mazachek, Washburn

Staff: Jean Redeker Karla Wiscombe Tim Peterson

Max Fridell Cynthia Farrier Sam Christy-Dangermond

Vera Brown

Others: Amy Hite, PSU Adam Borth, Fort Scott CC Cindy Hoss, Hutchinson CC

Linnea GlenMaye, WSU Cliff Morris, PSU Michael Fitzpatrick, Pratt CC
Brian Niehoff, KSU Harold Arnett, Cowley CC Lori Winningham, Butler CC
Mary Pomatto, PSU Betty Smith Campbell, WSU Michael McCloud, JCCC
Steve Loewen, FHTC Shirley Lefever, WSU Stephani Johns-Hines, SATC

Curtis Smith, KCKCC Ashlie Jack, WSU Clay Stoldt, WSU

Spencer Wood, KSU Nancy Zenger-Beneda, Cloud County CC

Chair April Mason welcomed everyone and started introductions.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Lynette Olson moved that the minutes of the May 16, 2018, meeting be approved. Following the second of Rick Muma, the motion carried.

PROGRAM REQUESTS

• WSU – Bachelor of Applied Science in Workforce Leadership and Applied Learning (second reading). Rick Muma described the degree program and stated there have been no further questions or discussions.

Lynette Olson moved, with the second of April Mason, that the Bachelor of Applied Science in Workforce Leadership and Applied Learning be approved. The motion carried unanimously, and this degree will be presented at the next meeting of COPS and BAASC.

PSU – Master of Science in Materials Science (first reading).
 Lynette Olson presented Pittsburg State University's degree request and introduced Mary Pomatto and Tim Dawsey to answer questions.

Discussion was held, and if there are further comments or questions, please contact Lynette Olson prior to the September 19, 2018, meeting. This is a first reading and no action is required.

KSU – Bachelor of Science in Educational Studies (first reading).
 April Mason presented Kansas State University's degree request and introduced Brian Niehoff to answer questions.

Discussion was held, and if there are further comments or questions, please contact Brian Niehoff prior to the September 19, 2018, meeting. This is a first reading and no action is required.

OTHER REQUESTS

- Request to Create Department of Engineering Technology was presented by Rick Muma, WSU. Discussion was held.
 - Jeff Briggs moved to approve the Request to Create a Department of Engineering Technology at Wichita State University. Following the second of David Cordle, the motion carried.
- A Request to reestablish two departments with the School of Business at Emporia State University was presented by David Cordle. Discussion was held.

Rick Muma moved to approve Emporia State University's request to reestablish two departments within the School of Business. Following the second of Lynette Olson, the motion carried.

UPDATES

Clifford Morris, PSU, updated COCAO on the Council of Faculty Senate Presidents (COFSP). The AP Cut Score handout was distributed. COFSP held a meeting and the institutions worked together for a compromise. A consensus was reached to change the AP cut scores for Physics C: Electricity & Magnetism and Physics C: Mechanics from five to four.

Discussion was held. Lynette Olson moved to approve the AP cut score of 4 for Physics C courses. Following the second of Carl Lejuez, the motion carried.

OTHER MATTERS

• Proposed amendments to the Policy on Expedited Program Approval Process were presented by Jean Redeker.

Discussion was held. COCAO requested COFSP discuss the Policy on Expedited Program Approval Process and provide feedback at the September COCAO meeting. COCAO will review the information at its November meeting.

The Chair recessed the meeting at 9:52 am.

COCOA reconvened at 12:07 pm.

- Tilford Conference
 - o A Council of Chief Diversity Officers Draft Charter was presented at today's COPS meeting.
 - o FHSU is hosting the Tilford Conference October 22-23, 2018.
 - o KU and KUMC will co-host the 2019 Conference.
- University Press of Kansas report will be presented and discussed after the COCAO meeting.
- COCAO members thanked April Mason for her dedication and service to Kansas Higher Education and wished her well in retirement.
- The COCAO chair for AY 2018-2019 will be Lynette Olson.

ADJOURNMENT

The chair adjourned the meeting at 12:27 pm.