## Council of Chief Academic Officers MINUTES

### Wednesday, May 19, 2021

The May 19, 2021 meeting of the Council of Chief Academic Officers was called to order by Chair Shirley Lefever at 9:01 a.m.

#### In Attendance:

Members:	Shirley Lefever, WSU Chuck Taber, K-State Barbara Bichelmeyer, KU	Jill Arensdorf, FHSU David Cordle, ESU Howard Smith, PSU	Robert Klein, KUMC JuliAnn Mazachek, Washburn Daniel Archer, KBOR
Staff:	Sam Christy-Dangermond Karla Wiscombe	Amy Robinson Tara Lebar	Cindy Farrier
Others:	Adam Borth, Fort Scott CC Clay Stoldt, WSU Elaine Simmons, Barton CC Janice Stover, Cowley CC Jason Sharp, Labette CC Jon Marshall, Allen CC Kim Krull, Butler CC Mark Vermillion, WSU Mindy Markham, K-State	Aleks Sternfeld-Dunn, WSU Corey Isbell, NCK Tech Erin Shaw, Highland CC Jerry Pope, KCKCC Jennifer Ball, Washburn Kim Morse, Washburn Linnea GlenMaye, WSU Mickey McCloud, JCCC Monette DePew, Pratt CC Sharon Kibbe, Highland CC	Brian Niehoff, K-State Doug English, WSU Heather Morgan, KACCT Jane Holwerda, Dodge City CC Jean Redeker, KU Kim Zant, Cloud County CC Lori Winningham, Butler CC Mike Strohschein, Washburn Ryan Diehl, Hutchinson CC Sarah Robb, Neosho County CC

Shirley Lefever welcomed everyone. Roll call was taken for members and presenters.

#### **Approval of Minutes**

Howard Smith moved to approve the April 14, 2021 meeting minutes, and Barbara Bichelmeyer seconded the motion. With no corrections, the motion passed.

## **Other Requests**

Shirly Lefever presented the following WSU program changes for approval:

- 1. Name Change of the Department of Chemistry to the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
- 2. Name Change of the Bachelor of Applied Science in Workforce Leadership and Applied Learning to Bachelor of Applied Science in Organizational Leadership and Learning

David Cordle moved to approve both WSU requests as presented, and Howard Smith seconded. With no questions presented, the motion passed unanimously through a roll-call vote.

These requests will go to Blake Flanders, President and CEO, for final approval.

# **Council of Faculty Senate Presidents Update**

Aleksander Sternfeld-Dunn, WSU Faculty Senate President, provided an update from the council. Aleks stated the council plans to discuss three main items later in the day:

1. What will returning to campus look like in the fall for faculty (such as mask mandates, social distancing, and remote work options).

- 2. Non-tenured faculty rights and privileges (such as the ability to take sabbaticals, load reductions for professional development, and securing longer-term appointments).
- 3. Continue discussions about the anticipated GE package.

# Opportunities that Universities are Considering or Planning to Pursue in the Future

Barbara Bichelmeyer noted KU would soon propose a Doctorate in Social Welfare. This will be a practitioner-focused terminal degree.

Shirley Lefever asked what other institutions were doing with the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) new process for program changes. Shirley stated they were concerned with tracking the 25% changes, which were cumulative from review to review. David said their HLC liaison emphasized that the 25% are all credits required for the program and not the major.

#### Adjournment

This was David Cordle's and Brian Niehoff's last meeting. David Cordle has served as the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs at ESU since 2013 and will be replaced by Dr. George Arasimowicz. Brian Niehoff, Associate Provost of K-State, has been a member of the provost's staff since 2009. The council thanked them for their dedication and work.

The next COCAO meeting will be on June 16, 2021.

Jill Arensdorf moved to adjourn the meeting, and Barbara Bichelmeyer seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the meeting adjourned at 9:14 a.m.