# Council of Chief Academic Officers MINUTES

### Wednesday, June 14, 2023

The June 14, 2023, Council of Chief Academic Officers (COCAO) meeting was called to order by Chair Barbara Bichelmeyer at 9:08 a.m. The meeting was held virtually through Zoom with an in-person option at the KBOR office.

#### In Attendance:

III Muuli			
Members:	Barbara Bichelmeyer, KU Chuck Taber, K-State	Jill Arensdorf, FHSU Howard Smith, PSU	Robert Klein, KUMC Laura Stephenson, Washburn
	Brent Thomas, ES	Linnea GlenMaye, WSU	Daniel Archer, KBOR
Staff:	Amy Robinson	Karla Wiscombe	Judd McCormack
	Sam Christy-Dangermond	Cindy Farrier	Marti Leisinger
	Tara Lebar	Charmine Chambers	
Others:	Angela Pool-Funai, FHSU	Arvin Cruz, FHSU	Becky Stuteville, K-State
	Cherry Steffen, Washburn	Bruce Moses, Allen CC	Brandon Galm, Cloud County CC
	Dan Moser, K-State	Diane Murphy, K-State	Elaine Simmons, Barton CC
	Heather Morgan, KACCT	Jaben Parnell, PSU	Janice Stover, Cowley CC
	Jean Dockers, PSU	Jean Redeker, KU	Jennifer Ball, Washburn
	Jennifer Callis, SATC	Jen Roberts, KU	Jill Wood, WSU
	Jo Wick, KUMC	JoLanna Kord, ESU	Karen Johnson, PSU
	Kelli Feldman, KU	Marc Malone, Garden City CC	Kim Zant, Cloud County CC
	Matthew Mayo, KUMC	Melanie Wallace, Allen CC	Mike Werle, KUMC
	Monette DePew, Pratt CC	Mary Carol Pomatto, PSU	Robert Klein, KUMC
	Sara Schwedtfeger, ESU	Scott Lucas, WSU Tech	Steven Skinner, WSU
	Tanya Gonzalez, K-State	Tara Lindahl, Washburn	Taylor Crawshaw, Independence CC
	Tiffany Evans, Colby CC	Tom Nevill, Butler CC	Tonya Ricklefs, Washburn
	Sharon Kibbe, Highland CC	Tanya Gonzalez, K-State	Tricia Paramore, Hutchinson CC
	Paul Adams, FHSU	Jolynn Dowling, WSU	Amber Knoettgen, Cloud County CC
	Mickey McCloud, JCCC	Aron Potter, Coffeyville CC	Sarah Robb, Neosho County CC
	Tamara Lynn, FHSU	Scott Lucas, WSU Tech	Jane Holwerda, Dodge City CC

Roll call was taken for members and presenters.

#### **Approval of Minutes**

Jill Arensdorf moved to approve the May 17, 2023, meeting minutes, and Howard Smith seconded the motion. With no corrections, the motion passed.

#### **Council of Faculty Senate Presidents (CoFSP) Update**

No update was provided.

#### **First Readings**

• Robert Klein and Jo Wick presented the first reading for a Ph.D. in Clinical and Translational Science at KUMC. The program is a 61-credit hour program developed over discussions on ways to identify, recruit, and train future principal investigators that can lead multidisciplinary clinical and translational research. There is a high demand for physician and medical scientists, which is expected to have

continued growth.

• Jill Arensdorf, Arvin Cruz, and Tammy Lynn presented the first reading for a BS in Criminalistics at FHSU. It is a collaboration between the Criminal Justice, Chemistry, Biology, and Geosciences programs and came from market opportunity research. This is an interdisciplinary program, and current faculty and courses will be utilized. WSU submitted concerns with course duplication and regional employability, which will be addressed before the September second reading.

#### **Second Reading**

• Chuck Taber moved to approve a DNP in Leadership at PSU, and Jill Arensdorf seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

#### **Other Requests**

• Linnea GlenMaye presented a request to approve a name change of the Department of Engineering Technology to the Department of Applied Engineering at WSU. This will align the name of the department to the program it offers.

Howard Smith moved to approve the FHSU name change as presented, and Brent Thomas seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

• Chuck Taber presented a request to approve a name change of PSM in Applied Biosciences to MS in Applied Biosciences at K-State. This change will help with degree clarification and meeting industry standard naming.

Jill Arensdorf moved to approve the name change as presented, and Howard Smith seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

• Chuck Taber presented a request to approve a name change of BS in Feed Sciences & Management to BS in Feed & Pet Food Science at K-State. This change will help provide a clear focus for students moving into the pet food industry. There will be a minor curriculum change as two different concentration options will be created: production/management and science.

Brent Thomas moved to approve the name changes as presented, and Jill Arensdorf seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

- Barbara Bichelmeyer presented requests to approve the following name changes at KU. These changes
  will provide clarification and a clean-up of program titles. The changes to theatre titles will align with
  disciplinary norms and more accurately reflect the current curriculum.
  - o BSE in Elementary Teacher Education to BSE in Elementary Education
  - o BSE in Secondary Teacher Education to BSE in Secondary Education
  - o MA in Theatre to MA in Theatre & Performance Studies
  - o Ph.D. in Theatre to Ph.D. in Theatre & Performance Studies
  - o BFA in Theatre to BFA in Theatre Design
  - o MFA in Theatre to MFA in Scenography

Howard Smith moved to approve the education program name changes as presented, and Chuck Taber seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Chuck Taber moved to approve the theatre program name changes as presented, and Jill Arensdorf seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

These requests will go to Dr. Blake Flanders for final approval.

## **Other Matters**

Chuck Taber noted that he announced his retirement. Chuck plans to retire by January 2024, and K-State will start the search for a new Provost soon. Barbara Bichelmeyer noted that KU would be bringing forward a BS in Health and Society after internal approval.

## **Adjournment**

The next COCAO meeting is scheduled virtually for September 20, 2023, at 9:00 a.m.

Brent Thomas moved to adjourn the meeting, and Howard Smith seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the meeting adjourned at 10:15 a.m.