Council of Chief Academic Officers MINUTES

Wednesday, September 20, 2023

The September 20, 2023, Council of Chief Academic Officers (COCAO) meeting was called to order by Chair Chuck Taber at 8:50 a.m. The meeting was held virtually through Zoom with an in-person option at the KBOR office.

In Attendance:

Members:	Chuck Taber, K-State	Jill Arensdorf, FHSU	Robert Klein, KUMC
	Barbara Bichelmeyer, KU	Howard Smith, PSU	Laura Stephenson, Washburn
	Brent Thomas, ESU	Shirley Lefever, WSU	Daniel Archer, KBOR
Staff:	Amy Robinson	Karla Wiscombe	Sam Christy-Dangermond
	Tara Lebar	Judd McCormack	Cindy Farrier
	Marti Leisinger	Elizabeth Ogundiran	Colleen Denney
Others:	Ashlie Jack, WSU	Arvin Cruz, FHSU	Bekah Selby-Leach, ESU
	Aron Potter, Coffeyville CC	Elaine Simmons, Barton CC	Grady Dixon, FHSU
	J. David Macey, FHSU	Janice Stover, Cowley CC	Jason Sharp, Labette CC
	Jean Redeker, KU	Jennifer Ball, Washburn	Jerry Pope, KCKCC
	Kara Wheeler, Allen CC	Linnea GlenMaye, WSU	Lisa Blair, NWKTC
	Lisa Kirmer, FHTC	Monette DePew, Pratt CC	Rachel Bates, Cowley CC
	Robert Klein, KUMC	Sara Schwedtfeger, ESU	Sharon Kibbe, Highland CC
	Sonia Gugnani, FSCC	Stuart Day, KU	Tamara Lynn, FHSU
	Tara Lindahl, Washburn	Tiffany Evans, Colby CC	Tonya Ricklefs, Washburn
	Gurb Singh, JCCC	Tricia Paramore, Hutchinson CC	Vince Bowman, Independence CC
	Tanya Gonzalez, K-State	Jolynn Dowling, WSU	Amber Knoettgen, Cloud County CC
	Corey Isbell, NCKTC	Marc Malone, Garden City CC	Brandon Galm, Cloud County CC
	Tom Nevill, Butler CC	Mickey McCloud, JCCC	Luke Dowell, Seward County CC
	Don Von Bergen, K-State		

Roll call was taken for members and presenters.

Approval of Minutes

Howard Smith moved to approve the June 14, 2023, meeting minutes, and Jill Arensdorf seconded the motion. With no corrections, the motion passed.

Council of Faculty Senate Presidents (CoFSP) Update

Don Von Bergen, K-State Faculty Senate President and Chair of the Council of Faculty Senate Presidents, provided the update. The Council met recently and discussed how they would like to participate proactively through shared governance. Don mentioned interest in the Board's Faculty of the Year award, which will be awarded to one tenured and one non-tenured (but tenured track) faculty member from each public university. The Council has been tasked with coming up with criteria for the award in order to determine nominations. More information will be announced as it is finalized.

First Readings

Barbara Bichelmeyer and Stuart Day presented the first reading for a BAS in Professional Performance at KU. This degree is to meet the growing demands of students exploring careers utilizing their athletic or artistic talents and will be offered through the School of Professional Studies and based at the KU Edwards Campus.

The program is offered online and through hybrid formats and consists of 30 hours for the major. Current resources will be utilized, and additional funds have been allocated in the second and third years to fund additional sections as needed.

Second Reading

Jill Arensdorf introduced Tamara Lynn and Arvin Cruz, program faculty, who gave an overview of the proposal for a BS in Criminalistics at FHSU. Barbara Bichelmeyer moved to approve the program, and Howard Smith seconded. The motion passed unanimously through a roll call vote. This program will go to COPS at their meeting later in the day and, if approved, will go to BAASC on October 3rd.

Other Requests

• Barbara Bichelmeyer presented a request to approve a name change of the BS in Interdisciplinary Computing to a BS in Applied Computing at KU. This name change better reflects the nature of the degree.

Jill Arensdorf moved to approve the KU name change as presented, and Howard Smith seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

• Barbara Bichelmeyer presented a request to approve a name change of the Bachelor of Music in Music Therapy to a Bachelor of Music Therapy at KU. This name change better reflects the nature of the degree.

Shirley Lefever moved to approve the KU name change as presented, and Jill Arensdorf seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

These requests will go to Dr. Blake Flanders for final approval.

Other Matters

The Council discussed and confirmed their yearly schedule. There will be no meeting in October, as the Board will do a campus-only visit at KU. The November meeting will be at ESU, and the April meeting will be at FHSU; both will be in-person meetings with a virtual option. The December meeting will be virtual only due to limited meeting space. All other meeting dates will be virtual meetings with an in-person option at the Topeka KBOR office.

Howard Smith noted PSU is working on a Master of Social Work to meet demand.

<u>Adjournment</u>

The next COCAO meeting is scheduled for November 15, 2023, at 9:00 a.m. on the Emporia State University campus. A virtual option will be provided.

Barbara Bichelmeyer moved to adjourn the meeting, and Jill Arensdorf seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the meeting adjourned at 9:16 a.m.