Independent Postsecondary Institutions

In 1999 the responsibility for authorizing non-public educational institutions to confer degrees in Kansas was transferred from the State Board of Education to the Board of Regents.

At that time, a number of private institutions were exempted from the scope of the legislation. In 1980, Barclay College was added to the list. The Legislature granted statutory exemptions for Kansas Christian College in 2004 and Cleveland University-Kansas City in 2017. These institutions are not under the authority of the Kansas Board of Regents. Each school has its own governing Board, and any questions or concerns should be directed to the institution.

1. *Baker University – Baldwin City
2. Barclay College – Haviland
3. *Benedictine College – Atchison
4. *Bethany College – Lindsborg
5. *Bethel College – North Newton
6. Central Baptist Theological Seminary – Kansas City
7. *Central Christian College – McPherson
8. *Cleveland University - Kansas City
9. *Donnelly College – Kansas City
10. *Friends University – Wichita
11. *Hesston College – Hesston
12. Kansas Christian College – Overland Park
13. *Kansas Wesleyan University – Salina
14. *Manhattan Christian College – Manhattan
15. Marymount College – Salina (closed)
16. *McPherson College – McPherson
17. *MidAmerica Nazarene University – Olathe
18. *Newman University – Wichita
19. *Ottawa University – Ottawa
20. St. John's College – Winfield (closed)
21. St. Mary of the Plains College – Dodge City (closed)
22. *Southwestern College – Winfield
23. *Sterling College – Sterling
24. *Tabor College – Hillsboro
25. *University of Saint Mary – Leavenworth

*For more information regarding these Independent Colleges please contact:

Kansas Independent College Association
President: Matthew Lindsey
700 SW Kansas Avenue, Suite 622
Topeka, KS 66603-3823
FAX: 785.235.1437
E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.