State universities in Kansas follow Qualified Admissions (QA) criteria when admitting undergraduate students. These criteria are set by the Kansas Board of Regents, the governing body for the six state universities. The purpose of QA is to enhance success at the university level by ensuring students are prepared for the rigors of a university education. The institutions that use QA for admission are: Emporia State University, Fort Hays State University, Kansas State University, Pittsburg State University, University of Kansas, and Wichita State University.

QA Flyer Oct2020

Qualified Admissions for High School Graduates Academic Year 2022-2023

Admisión Calificados Para Graduados de Secundaria Año Académico 2022-2023 y Posteriores

Qualified Admissions requirements have changed for 2021 high school graduates. For more information, please see the Frequently Asked Questions guide to these changes.

Qualified Admissions Rules and Regulations

The Kansas Board of Regents has statutory authority to enact rules and regulations for admission to state universities. The Qualified Admissions Rules and Regulations were enacted to implement K.S.A. 76-717, the statute that details undergraduate admissions standards for state universities.

  • Click here to read the Qualified Admissions Rules and Regulations

Kansas Scholars Program

The Kansas State Scholarship is designed to assist financially needy students in the top 20-40% of Kansas high school graduates who are designated as state scholars during the senior year of high school.  Completion of the Kansas Scholars Curriculum is one component of the scholarship requirements.