Article Level website banner SFA 2017

Student financial aid includes grants, scholarships, and loans. It can be available through the federal and state government, private corporations, and philanthropic organizations, to name a few. The Kansas Board of Regents is responsible for the administration of the state-funded grants and scholarships. For more information on financial assistance, please contact the financial aid office at the school you wish to attend or contact the Kansas Board of Regents for more information.

Click here to apply for the following scholarships:

  • Kansas Career Technical Workforce Grant 
  • Kansas Ethnic Minority Scholarship
  • Kansas Military Service Scholarship
  • Kansas National Guard Educational Assistance Program 
  • Kansas Nursing Service Scholarship
  • Kansas Teacher Service Scholarship
  • Kansas State Scholarship


To apply for federal student financial aid, and to apply for many state student aid programs, student must complete a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). The information you provide on your FAFSA determines if you are eligible for financial aid.

If you don’t have a copy of your tax return, you may be able to access the tax software used to prepare your return or contact your tax preparer to obtain a copy.  You also may visit to view and download a summary (called a “transcript”) of your tax return or to request that a tax transcript be sent to you by mail. Meanwhile, the IRS has published the following guide to assist families in obtaining tax information for the FAFSA:


Kansas Learning Quest College Savings Program

The Kansas Learning Quest Savings Program offers education savings accounts to help students pay higher education expenses for individuals that are designated, or for the students themselves. The program also provides tax advantages under both state and federal law. 

Midwest Student Exchange Program

The Midwest Student Exchange Program (MSEP) is an interstate initiative established by the Midwestern Higher Education Commission (MHEC) to increase interstate educational opportunities for students in its members states. This tuition discount program, includes the eight participating states of Kansas, Indiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio and Wisconsin. The Midwest Student Exchange Program seeks to provide more affordable educational opportunities for students to attend out-of-state institutions. It also strives to facilitate enrollment efficiency in those institutions which have excess capacity in existing programs.